Every year during the Gala Performances the Festival presents two awards, honoring legendary figures of the dance world and national and international dance critics.  Honorees are selected by IBFM artistic director and a panel of festival advisors.


A Life for Dance” Lifetime Achievement Award presented to legendary figures of the dance, honoring the brilliant careers and the legacy of some of the most famous and worldwide renowned Ballet Dancers, Choreographers & Directors. Some of our past honorees include; Fernando Bujones, Jose Pares, Rosella Hightower, Carla Fracci, Jean Babilee, Ekaterina Maximova, Vladimir Vasiliev, Edward Villella, Paul Szilard, Alberto Alonso, Roland Petit, Frederick Franklin, Lupe Serrano, Marcia Haydee, Milorad Miskovic, Heinz Spoerli, Maria de Avila, Helene Trailine, Azary Plisetsky, Carlos Gacio.  The award statuette was created by Mexican Artist David Camorlinga, inspired by the "Dying Swan" as interpreted by prima ballerina Maya Plisetskaya.  




“A Life for Dance” Lifetime Achievement Award

Statuette created by

David Camorlinga Tagle


David Camorlinga was born January 20 , 1983 in Mexico. He studied at the National University of Mexico, School of Architecture, and his fount of inspiration comes from nature and observing people. One of his biggest influences was the master of Mexican architecture, Pedro Ramirez Vazquez from whom he learned about the roots of the pre-hispanic Mexico and collaborated with him for five years. Mr. Camorlinga also finds inspiration from architecture, graphic design, sculpture and landscape painting and has a very diverse academic background. He has traveled in different parts of the world: Italy,France, England, Spain, New York, Chicago, Canada, India, and of course in his native Mexico, where he visited museums and absorbed the culture.

Mr. Camorlinga's work has been displayed  at multiple institutions and galleries, among them, the Leopoldo Flores University Museum, (November 2012 - January 2013), The Modern Art Museum of Mexico City (Mexico Live Foundation, September 26, 2012), The 41st edition of the International Festival of Cervantino (October 9- 27 2013), In Camera de Diputado (November 26, 2013), the Monterrey Campus of Technology, Santa Fe (March 5, - April 5 2013), the University of Anahuac South Mexico (24 October -November 25), in the 8th International Symposium of Art & Design, National University of Mexico (November 13 - 15 2012)  the Israeli Sport Center (June 30 - July 31, 2013), Museum of Modern Art of Toluca (Subasta Encorazona2 November 26, 2013), Aqua Hotel (February 11 - March 20 -, 2014), Chicago Gallery "La Llorona" (March 2014), Contemporary Mexican Cultural Center (April 10 - May 20), GMC Cadillac Agency Tollocan (May 22 - June 30, 2014), San Carlos Academy ( August 7 - 28, 2914), Soumaya Museum (November 21 - 25), the Contemporary Art Museum of Mexico (October 25 - January 20, 2015).


 Criticism and Culture of Ballet  


Criticism and Culture of Ballet” honors the most important national and international dance critics. Some of our past honorees include; Clive Barnes, Roger Salas, Anna Kisselgoff, Erik Aschengreen, Alfio Agostini, Rene Sirvin, Clement Crisp, Orlando Taquechel, Jean Pierre Pastori, Patricia Aulesti.  


Every 10 years to commemorate it's anniversary the Festival presents the "Anniversary Grand Prix Gold Medal". This award has been presented to legendary Prima Ballerina and teacher Violette Verdi on the X anniversary and to Mrs. Nina Loory, Artistic Director of the world renowned "Benois de la Danse" Moscow on the XX anniversary.