Principal dancers from the best companies around the world are invited to participate in this International Event. Artistic Director Pablo Pablo Peña has a very strict protocol as to who is invited to this prestigious Festival. He attends live performances and reviews dancer's videos from all over the world and with the collaboration of a national and international team of Artistic Advisors not only they select the participants but also the best of the classical repertoire. In 2011, Mr. Peña traveled to Moscow (Russia) to be part of the panel of judges at the "2011 Benoise of Dance" where he met with new and upcoming international principal ballet stars that approached him for participation in future editions of the IBFM.


As a tribute to the IBFM artistic integrity, the most famous and established ballet companies worldwide continue to send their newest and best talents that have obtained  the Principal Dancer level, changing year to year.  Some of the international participating companies  throughout the history of the Festival  include Vienna State Opera Ballet, Salzburg Ballet (Austria), Australian Ballet (Australia), Ballet Teatro Colon, Teatro Argentino de la Plata (Argentina), Royal Ballet of Flanders (Belgium), Hong Kong Ballet (China), Ballet do Theatro Municiapl do Rio de Janeiro, Cia. Brazileira de Ballet, Deanima Ballet Contemporaneo (Brazil), National Ballet of Canada, Royal Winnipeg Ballet, Les Ballets Jazz de Montreal, Les Grands Ballets Canadiens, Alberta Ballet (Canada), Ballet de Santiago (Chile), Incolballet (Colombia), Czech National Ballet (Czech Republic), Ballet Nacional Dominicano (Dom. Republic), Royal Ballet, English National Ballet, Birmingham Royal Ballet (England), Paris Opera, Ballet de Biarritz, Roland Petit Ensemble, Ballet del'opera de Nice (France), Berlin State Opera, Stuttgart Ballet, Leipzig Opera Ballet, Bavarian State Opera Ballet  (Germany), Georgia State Ballet (Georgia), Bigidi Dance Company (Guadeloupe), Nederlands Dans Theater, Dutch National Ballet (Holland), Hungarian National Ballet (Hungary), Nadine Animato Dance Company (Israel), Ballet dell'Opera di Roma, Ballet Teatro Alla Scala, Balletto di Torino, Balletto di Puglia,  (Italy), India World Cultural Forum (India), Kim Sun Hee Ballet (Korea), Compagnie Christiane Emmanuel (Martinique), National Ballet of Portugal (Portugal), Ballet Concierto, Ballet Teatro Nacional (Puerto Rico), State Primorsky Opera and Ballet (Russia), Zurich Ballet, Ballet du Grand Theatre de Geneve, Cia. Octavio de la Roza Lausanne (Switzerland), Slovene National Ballet (Slovenia), Cape Town City Ballet (South Africa), National Ballet of Spain, Nacho Duato Ballet Company, Victor Ullate Ballet (Spain), Istanbul State Opera and Ballet (Turkey), Ballet Nacional de Caracas, Ballet Nuevo Mundo (Venezuela), among others.   


Some of the most important classical, modern and contemporary dance companies from the United States such as: New York City Ballet; American Ballet Theater; San Francisco Ballet, Boston Ballet, Houston Ballet, Miami City Ballet, Cincinnati Ballet, Kansas City Ballet, Cleveland San Jose Ballet, Ballet Austin, Colorado Ballet, Hartford Ballet, Washington Ballet, Grand Rapids Ballet, Sarasota Ballet, Ballet Florida, Orlando Ballet, Nevada Ballet Theater, Joffrey Ballet, Martha Graham Dance Company, Jose Limon Dance Company, Complexions Dance Company, Alonso King, Ballet X, Ballet Noire, Dallas Black Dance Theater, among others.  The Festival is also a platform for our local companies to perform next to these national and international companies, including:    Miami City Ballet, Cuban Classical Ballet of Miami, Momentum Dance Company, Miami Contemporary Dance, Dance Now, Ife Ile Dance Company, Freddick Bratcher and Company, Demetrius Klein Dance Company, among others.


The IBFM includes several different venues in Miami Dade-County, Broward and Palm Beach; Miami-Dade County Auditorium, Fillmore Miami Beach at Jackie Gleason Theater, The Colony Theater, Adrienne Arsht Center, Manuel Artime Theater, Amaturo Theater Broward Performing Arts Center, Raymond F. Kravis Center for the Performing Arts, Olympia Theater Gusman Center For the Performing Arts, Lehman Theater Miami Dade College North Campus, Chapman Conference Center Miami Dade College Wolfon Campus, Tower Theater, Miami Beach Cinematheque, O Cinema Coral Gables, Lincoln Rd. Mall,  and Miami Hispanic Cultural Arts Center 


Every year during the Gala Performances the Festival presents two awards; “A Life for Dance”Lifetime Achievement Award to a legendary figure of the dance, honoring the brilliant careers and the legacy of some of the most famous and worldwide renowned Ballet Dancers, Choreographers & Directors, Our past honorees include; Fernando Bujones, Jose Pares, Rosella Hightower, Carla Fracci, Jean Babilee, Ekaterina Maximova, Vladimir Vasiliev, Edward Villella, Paul Szilard, Violette Verdi, Alberto Alonso, Roland Petit, Frederick Franklin, Lupe Serrano, Marcia Haydee, Milorad Miskovic, Heinz Spoerli, Maria de Avila, Helene Trailine, Azary Plisetsky.  The “Criticism and Culture of Ballet” honors the most important national and international dance critics. Our past honorees include; Clive Barnes, Roger Salas, Anna Kisselgoff, Erik Aschengreen, Alfio Agostini, Rene Sirvin, Clement Crisp, Orlando Taquechel, Jean Pierre Pastori.


Every 10 years to commemorate it's anniversary the Festival presents the "Anniversary Grand Prix Gold Medal". This award has been presented to legendary Prima Ballerina and teacher Violette Verdi on the X anniversary and to Mrs. Nina Loory, Artistic Director of the world renowned "Benois de la Danse" on the XX anniversary.